To Kill A Wizard

clip0009

AUTHOR: Lisa Morrow
SERIES: The Protectors of Tarak #1
FORMAT: Digital
PAGES: 230 (Just want to clarify when it’s a digital copy I just use the page count that’s on my e-reader, so in epub version but often that’s not accurate to what it used to be, f.e. the Paperback of this is 400+ pages)
LINK: Goodreads
NOTE: I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. Thank you so much, Lisa, it was a pleasure to read this.

 

OFFICIAL DESCRIPTION

When eighteen-year-old Rose is chosen to join a mysterious order of women known as The Protectors, she hopes to escape a forced marriage and a miserable life. Instead, she unveils the dark secrecy surrounding The Protectors, and uncovers the horrific truth behind their power source. With her loyalty in tatters and her best friend’s life held hostage, she must learn to unlock the powerful magic slumbering deep inside her.

But time is running out.

The Undead Wizards, a dangerous enemy, have re-emerged from the Underworld, plunging The Protectors and the kingdom into a brutal war. Unfortunately, The Fates’ decree that Rose is the answer to the war may cost her more than she ever imagined. To win, she must decide whether to join them and betray the man she loves, or risk the annihilation of all she holds dear.

 

CONCEPT, CHARACTERS AND PERSONAL THOUGHTS

The concept and plot of this book (and series) is quite interesting. It’s not one I’ve encountered before, so that’s always refreshing and at the same time, takes some time to get used to.

I think this book made a lot of smart choices with the complexity of its characters and general development of the main characters. This book isn’t just an introduction into a world and the beginning of a series. Recently quite a few books I’ve read literally just introduce the concept of the series to force you in a way to read the next book, and I’m not okay with that. It makes your first book very empty and it truly doesn’t make me want to read the other books if that’s how you go about your writing. This book didn’t do that, it has its own story and it’s just the beginning of the problems and rich history that we still have to discover.

The lead character, Rose, is so complex and I love characters like that. Like I stated before, most characters in this are quite complex. But I love characters that need to make choices they’re not okay with and how they deal with that internal struggle, it’s always interesting to see how the writer deals with it. I think here it was done very nicely.

 

MY RATING

All in all, I loved this book and I don’t see a reason why I wouldn’t give it a five star rating. I look forward to reading more of this series.

2 thoughts on “To Kill A Wizard

  1. Reblogged this on Lisa Morrow Official Author Page and commented:
    Mel Goethalis recently read and reviewed both “To Kill a Wizard” and “Circe: The Beginning.” He gave both books five stars and had some wonderful things to say! I really appreciate his time and effort, and I’m glad to have found such a great book reviewer. I actually plan to pick up some of the other books he’s discussed on his website.

    Check out the full reviews!

    Like

Leave a Reply

